The Friends of Medalta Society is a not-for-profit organization established in 1986 which is dedicated to the restoration and development of Medalta Potteries National Historic Site and 150 acre Historic Clay District as a world-class artistic and cultural hub. Within the District are the historic Medicine Hat Potteries, Hycroft China Provincial Historic Resource, The Medicine Hat Brick and Tile Provincial Historic Resource and the National Porcelain Site. Together, Medicine Hat’s clay industries formed one of Western Canada’s earliest and largest industries.

On this page you will find the list of our Board of Directors, our Mission & Vision statements and Honour Roll recipients.

Friends of Medalta 2016-2017 Board of Directors

Dr. Linda Rossler – Chair

Mr. Dave Sherwood – Vice Chair

Mr. Drew Jackiw – Treasurer

Mr. James Parsons – Secretary

Mr. Harvey Fix – Director

Dr. Denise Henning- Director

Mr. Kevin Kurtz – Director

Mr. James Marshall – Director

Ms. Jaquelyn Penner – Director

Mr. Roger Sept – Director

Mr. Ron Webb – Director

Ald. Jamie McIntosh (City of Medicine Hat Council Representative)

Mr. Barry Finkelman – Executive Director

Mr. Aaron Nelson – Associate Director

Ms. Laurie Switzer – Finance and Human Resources Director

Mission Statement

The Friends of Medalta Society (the “Society”) fosters an understanding and appreciation of the Medicine Hat Clay Industries National Historic District (known as the “Historic Clay District”), its importance in the development of Medicine Hat, and its impact across Canada through collection, preservation, exhibition and interpretation.

Vision Statement

The Friends of Medalta Society is dedicated to developing the Historic Clay District as “A world-class cultural district with a heart of clay”.

Honour Roll

Honour Roll recipients have made significant contributions to the Friends of Medalta Society. Many of the Founding Committee members continue to offer their services as advisors and volunteers for the society, as do many retired members of the Board of Directors. Volunteers are selected for the extraordinary effort they have extended, and continue to extend to the society’s various programs, and staff are chosen for their selfless dedication and perseverance in achieving the goals of the Historic Clay District.

Yvonne Anctil
Bill Bauman
Dianne Finch
Jack Forbes
Arne Handley
Darcey Howells
David Jamieson
Reiny Lehr
Jane MacKay
Les Manning
James & Lorine Marshall
Sharon Sept
Clayton Sissons
Bob Townsend

Paula Armstrong
Nancy Beatch
Bert Hargrave (posthumous)
Allan Jensen
Audrey Malek
Phyllis McLaughlin
John Moldon
Carol O’Brien
Rob Renner
Malcolm Sissons
Dan Taylor (posthumous)
Annette Unger
Sharon Zollner

Rino Basso
Ronald Getty
Basil Leismeister
Tony Schlachter
Lorne Simpson
Laurie Switzer
Brian Unger
Bill Yuill

Barry Finkelman
Jacquie Heard
Marilyn Pacheco
Ken Zollner

Len Mitzel
Joyce Yamamoto


Thanks to the following organizations for their continued support.